Thoughts of a Pleb: What’s going on?

It’s Wrestlemania season here in the WWE, but you wouldn’t know it. With the WWE champion having been missing for a couple of weeks, the undercard feeling rushed; it’s fair to say the the build for the biggest show of the year has felt a little lacklustre.

We are being given matches we’ve already seen, and that there was no particular clamour for to see again. We’re being given matches featuring Brodus Clay and Tensai while talents like Antonio Cesaro are not on the card. We have main events featuring people who we only see 2 or 3 times a year while people like Dolph Ziggler and Daniel Bryan are stuck in a tag team match for championships that are worthless at this point. I think there are plenty of reasons to be disappointed with the build for this year’s Wrestlemania.

I was all set to write about how this year’s Wrestlemania doesn’t excite me, about how I wasn’t even sure if I would bother watching it this year or not. Then I watched this week’s Raw. I don’t know what it was, but suddenly I started really looking forward to Wrestlemania 29: The Rematches.

I don’t know if it’s just the time of year – as wrestling fans we have been trained to get really hot about the product at this time of year. I don’t know if it’s the constant tweeting from WWE personnel. I don’t know if it’s the unpredictability of the undercard. I don’t know if it’s just the rumours getting my hopes up. But I can now say something I wouldn’t have been able to a week ago:

I’m excited for Wrestlemania.

The predictions will be up either later today or tomorrow. The plan is for me to not be alone, so there could be a different dynamic here in the future. It’s going to be very long – I can feel it because I haven’t written anything for over a month, so I’ll have a lot to say. Then of course there’s Wrestlemania itself and then Raw – will we see anything on the scale of Brock Lesnar’s return from last year? We’ll have to wait and see. I’ll also be reposting a column in the near future.

Are you excited for Wrestlemania, or disappointed? Let us know by commenting, or if you’re a slightly more introverted person and don’t want your opinions out in public, email us at WrestlingsPlebs@hotmail.com

About plebsofwrestling

A team of young writers from Scotland who have been fans of the WWE for many years. A "pleb" literally means commoner, which means that our contribution can be absolutely ignored. If you haven't ignored us - thank you - and feel free to either comment or e-mail us with feedback or thoughts.

What do you think? Leave a Reply

